You are here

Back to top

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson (Hardcover)

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In this sweeping and inventive debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman, and Tim Burton, a prodigal inventor flees his home to find his destiny.

In the humdrum town of Moormouth, Walter Mortinson’s unusual inventions cause nothing but trouble. After one of his contraptions throws the town into chaos, Walter’s mother demands he cut the nonsense and join the family mortuary business.

Far off on Flaster Isle, famed inventor Horace Flasterborn plans to take Walter under his wing, just as he did Walter’s genius father decades ago. When a letter arrives by unusual means offering Walter an apprenticeship, it isn’t long before Walter decides to flee Moormouth to meet his destiny.

Walter runs away in the family hearse along with Cordelia, the moody girl next door with one eye and plenty of secrets. Together they journey through a strange landscape of fish-people, giantess miners, and hypnotized honeybees in an adventure that will not only reveal the truth about Walter’s past, but direct his future.

About the Author


Quinn Sosna-Spear was named a California Young Playwright at seventeen and went on to study at the University of Southern California. She has since written books, films, and virtual reality projects. The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson, her debut novel, was inspired by the untimely death of her own mother. Quinn hopes to share with all readers—particularly those struggling with loss—the humor, poignancy, and adventure in such things…as dreary and impossible as they may seem.

Praise For…


“Sosna-Spear's debut novel contains elements of Oz and Harry Potter with a healthy dollop of Willie Wonka thrown into the mix….An earnest novel that celebrates courage and individuality.”
— Kirkus Reviews

"All readers with a heart for adventure will appreciate this quirkily told tale.”
— BCCB

"This is a charming tale with a witty tone . . . the perfect read aloud for 4th-6th grade classes."
— School Library Connection

Product Details
ISBN: 9781534420809
ISBN-10: 1534420800
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2019
Pages: 336
Language: English